top of page

PLAY READINGS

Play readings are held regularly at Manor Gardens and are great opportunities for members and non-members alike to relax in friendly company and read through a play that we are thinking of producing in the future or simply want to read!

There is no compulsion to read any of the parts, if you just want to listen, but it is a fun chance to read and enjoy parts that you wouldn't be able to audition for, because of age, gender or other reasons! 

Play readings coming up and those that took place in 2023 and 2024:

THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN

based on the novel by Paula Hawkins

Adapted by Rachel Wagstaff and Duncan Abel

Friday 14th June 2024 at 7.30pm

At: Manor Gardens

THE LADY IN THE VAN

by Alan Bennet

Date to be agreed

At: Manor Gardens

Play readings are also scheduled for Tues 9th July, Tues 20th Aug, Wed 11th Sept.

Details to be confirmed.

THE TEMPEST

by William Shakespeare

Tuesday 28th May 2024 at 7.30pm

At: Manor Gardens

SKYLIGHT

by David Hare

Tuesday 7th May 2024 at 7.30pm

At: Manor Gardens

ROSENCRANTZ AND GUILDENSTERN ARE DEAD

by Tom Stoppard

Tuesday 16th April 2024 at 7.30pm

At: Manor Gardens

BLACKADDER

by Richard Curtis and Ben Elton

Wednesday 21st February 2024 at 7.30pm

At: Manor Gardens

THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME

by Mark Haddon

Wednesday 4th April 2024 at 7.30pm

At: Manor Gardens

HANGMEN

by Martin McDonagh

Wednesday 31st January 2024 at 7.30pm

At: Manor Gardens, led by Vince Sutton 

FLEABAG

by Phoebe Waller-Bridge

Thursday 16th November 2023 at 7.30pm

At: Manor Gardens 

This is more of a workshop given the nature of the play. Details below:

MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING

CAN'T PAY? WON'T PAY!

by Dario Fo

Wednesday 9th August 2023 at 7.30pm

At: Manor Gardens 

by William Shakespeare

Tuesday 9th May 2023 at 7.30pm

At: Manor Gardens 

JANE EYRE

AGATHA CRUSTY AND THE VILLAGE HALL MURDERS

based on the novel by Charlotte Bronte

Wednesday 12th April 2023 at 7.30pm

At: Manor Gardens 

by Derek Webb

Thursday 4th May 2023 at 7.30pm

At: Manor Gardens 

CHARLOTTE

by Jenny and Paul Shryane

An original piece   One of the most famous murders ever to have occurred in Cornwall concerned Charlotte Dymond who is said to have been killed by her jealous lover Matthew Weeks near the stream below Rough Tor. Weeks was arrested in Plymouth and tried at Bodmin. He was found guilty and hanged there in August 1844. But was he guilty?

Wednesday 23rd March 2023 at 7:30pm

At: Manor Gardens

bottom of page